Sound Waves Decodable Readers Year 1 – Core Set



The core set of Year 1 Decodable Readers follows the Sound Waves systematic synthetic phonics sequence so that students can consolidate the explicit teaching of phoneme–grapheme relationships with targeted reading practice.

There are 43 different books in the Year 1 core set. Each book in the set features a focus phoneme–grapheme relationship, charming illustrations and a captivating story.

Books in the core set include:

  • CCVC, CVCC and CCVCC words
  • two-syllable words
  • newly learned Special Words from the Sound Waves teaching sequence
  • a steadily increasing word count of 110–250 words.

In addition, every Decodable Reader includes a Warm Up section with words containing the focus phoneme–grapheme relationship, Book Chat questions to encourage students to reflect on what they are reading, and tips for helping students during reading.

View core sample books:
Wobble Wobble Wombat
The Fangs
Hurry Scurry

Read More


Weight 2.29 kg
Dimensions 21 × 15.5 × 8 cm
Year Level



Related products